헬스케어

[테니스룰] 유일하게 오버네트가 허용되는 순간

카프치노 2021. 9. 22. 12:51

나도 내 라켓이 네트를 넘어갔던 적이 있었고, 규칙을 알고 돌이켜 보니 어떤 경우는 포인트를 잃었어야할 순간도 있었겠다는 생각이 든다. 이럴 때 망설이지 말고 정확히 짚고 넘어가 보자. 

내가 생각하는 오버네트로 인한 점수를 잃는 경우는 선수의 라켓이 상대편 코트 쪽으로 네트를 넘어가는 것이다. 예외의 경우가 있다고는 생각하지 않았다. 하지만 국제테니스협회(ITF)의 규정에 따르면 상대네트로 넘어가는 경우라도 득점이 인정되는 경우가 있다. 일반룰과 예외룰이 존재하는 것을 찾아냈고 이에 대해 살펴보자. 내가 찾는 과정은 본 글의 태그로 남겨놓을테니 궁금한 독자는 따라가보면 된다.


첫째, 일반룰(General Rule)이다. ITF 규정 (첨부: ITF Rules of Tennis 2021) 24번 점수를 잃는 경우의 g, h 규정을 보면 넷터치를 하는 경우 혹은 네트를 넘어오기 전에 공을 치는 경우는 점수를 잃는다고 규정하고 있다. 또한 규정 25번 좋은 리턴의 경우의 e 규정을 보면 나의 코트에서 공을 친 후에 라켓이 상대코트로 넘어가는 경우는 득점을 할 수 있다고 규정하고 있다.

2021-rules-of-tennis-english.pdf
1.30MB

이 두 경우를 조합해 보면, 내가 넷터치를 하지 않고, 공이 나의 코트로 넘어오고 난 후에 쳐서 넘기는 경우는 라켓이 네트를 넘어가도 인정된다. 아마도 팔로스루(Follow Through)를 통한 라켓의 오버네트를 허용해주기 위한 규정으로 해석한다. 나는 이런 경우도 점수를 잃는 경우로 생각하고 있었는데, 이번 기회를 통해서 제대로 알게 되었다.

[아래: ITF Rules of Tennis 2021 발췌]

24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
The point is lost if:
(중략)
g. The player or the racket, whether in the player’s hand or not, or anything which the player is wearing or carrying touches the net, net posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the opponent’s court at any time while the ball is in play; or

h. The player hits the ball before it has passed the net; or
(아래생략)
25. A GOOD RETURN
It is a good return if:
(중략)
e. The player’s racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player’s own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court; or
(아래생략)

 


 

두번째, 예외룰이다. 상기 일반룰을 보아도 아쉬운 것이 있을 것이다. 상대가 친 공이 내 코트에 맞고 스핀이나 바람에 의해 상대코트로 넘어가는 경우이다. 이 경우는 예외 조항으로 분석한 사례가 USTA의 Q&A를 통해 공식규정을 공지하고 있다.

[아래: USTA의 기록물 저장소에서 발췌] 

Reaching Over the Net

Friday, June 18, 2010 7:02 AM ET

Q. “While playing a round robin doubles match, an opponent of mine reached over the net while returning a ball. The ball was on their side of the net, yet their racket clearly was on my side during the return and follow-through. No contact was made to the net by player or racquet. The ball landed in and the point continued on. Is this automatically a lost point due to reaching over the net?”

*We’ve received emails from readers wanting the definitive answers to questions that seek the clarification of rules, so we’ve decided to oblige with a ruling from the USTA Director of Officials Richard Kaufman to the above question before getting into players’ responses.

OFFICIAL RULING

A player may break the plain of the net on a follow through from a shot as long as the ball was on that player’s side of the court when the ball was struck. (The player can only reach over to play a ball in the situation stated in the paragraph below).

The player in either situation may not touch the net, or the opponent’s court with anything he wears or carries or with any part of the body.

If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player(s) who hit the shot, the opponent(s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent’s court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball. If the opponent does not play the ball and it bounces on the side of the player who hit the spin shot, that player who hit that shot wins the point.

상기는 공식룰로 규정하는데, 단 하나의 예외조항을 명시한다. 스핀이나 바람에 의해 공이 다시 넘어오는 경우, 넷터치나 상대 코트에 닿지 않는다면 공을 치는 것은 인정한다.

와우! 놀라운 발견!